A Rare Emotion

I am a cup half full type of person. Yes I can be cynical, sarcastic and occasionally give you an attitude. But deep in my soul I hold firmly on to hope. Hope in whatever forms it presents itself, until this day.

This morning while in the shower I had an overwhelming sense of hopelessness at the carnage we create for one another. Many folks ask how I can spend the day listening to other peoples challenges and still remain hopeful. I do it because it is witnessing to the healing work that happens and I am blessed to get a front row seat to transformation occurring in the dance of life.

But today if I am honest, this is new for me. I have lost faith in our government and our ability to protect our most vulnerable. I am not throwing in the towel on curbing violence or reasonable gun control or increased mental health access. But what I firmly now believe without a doubt is that those issues are symptoms of a larger problem. Our ability to be in relationship and connection has taken been lost. Not sure how or why but we are seeing the disconnection in vivid display and it’s claiming victims of all ages.

So tonight as I go to bed I ponder how to build relationships with people whom I don’t agree or cross divides created because it is only in relationship where hope is born.

Leave a comment