What I No Longer Do

Anyone who knows me knows I have never been one to hold back in something I feel passionate about to say what I feel needs to be said. My parents spoke their minds and I learned it well.

Something has changed though. It happened just a few minutes ago when I sifted through the memories on Facebook. Approximately 6 years ago I posted a rant on Facebook. Not a proud moment for sure. Now would be embarrassed by it quite frankly. But here is why.

I have learned that pouring out my frustration and disappointment with other people on social media is not helpful. Sure I have known that for some time but it took looking back to realize how unhelpful and unhealthy that was.

Here is what I am learning about social media. Sometimes we equate using a platform to respond to others so that it might prompt a change in a person’s way of thinking or being. Some use it to as a way to hopefully bring about change. Rarely if ever does it do that. I admit I gave it too much power to do that before and since that time I have exercised restraint in my postings.

So why write a blog post about it now? In part because although social media has given an unique venue to express our selves, it is an sporadic experience when I have felt revived or lifted up or even aware of changes that are good lifted through this technology. I have witnessed the havoc it plays with people’s lives. I work with people to overcome the negativity that saturates social media.

Social media provides us with good things no doubt such as peeking into the lives of others whom we love and care to see and connect. I am not saying I won’t use social media. What I am saying is I will no longer rant using this method. It’s not healthy or helpful. What I did was perpetuate angst without follow up. If I feel like ranting or expressing frustration I will be courageous to sit down with someone to state my thoughts, feelings, or beliefs. I think it has provided us an easy way out and after reading what I wrote I will no longer contribute to that stream of negativity. I have realized I can only control myself and responding in such a way helped no one.

Leave a comment