Mother’s Wisdom

The past few days have been filled with lots of planning for mom’s funeral. Thus lots of memories being told and remembered. And for me it has been a time of learning some things about her that I didn’t know or somehow forgotten.

So as I think about her life, here are a few of the lessons I learned.

1. It doesn’t matter how late you are out on Saturday night, you always go to church on Sunday

2. Try your best

3. It will all work out

4. This is something she modeled — her Bible and The Upper Room Daily Devotional.

5. Family vacations are important (although we kids fought al the time). She loved nature and camping gave me lots of good memories. I know we went to South Dakota many times because my parents loved the Black Hills. Vacations there always included Chips Ahoy to feed the donkeys.

6. Do what is right, even if you aren’t wanting to.

7. Taught me how to share a room with a sibling.

8. She got me hooked on reading, especially mysteries. I have a copy of the first mystery she had me read. She loved the book of Esther because it reads as a good story.

9. She was always there when I needed her, especially when I had my own children

10. We always had breakfast and supper together. Of course us daughters always had clean up duties!!!

She bought Tang and I thought that was so cool because it’s what astronauts drank!

As I think back over her life, I know without a doubt, her family and her faith was her world.

But since her death many memories are flooding me especially when I first wake and for those I give thanks.

Leave a comment