Transitions are important

The primary way to prepare for the unknown is to attend to the quality of our relationships, to how well we know and trust one another. It is possible to prepare for the future without knowing what it will be.”
Margaret Wheatley, “When Change Is Out of Our Control”

One of my favorite writers on leadership and community is Margaret Wheatley. Her work has inspired me and resonated with me for quite a few years now. As I think about the months ahead, the word that keeps coming to mind in particular to my life at this precise moment is transitions.  

I am in my last semester of graduate school with lots of dates and requirements to complete.  I did what is called a Parallel Pathway through this university so that I had options when I graduated.  Well, it is the first of September and I am grasping just how quickly December will get here.

To be honest, it is both exhilarating and very anxiety provoking!  I have been in my current vocation for 20 years, serving with volunteers, leaders, and children in a ministerial setting.  Three years ago I embarked on a journey toward making a vocational change by enrolling in a masters of counseling program.  I love learning and so I have loved the academic life of graduate school.  Yet at some point, the actual transition begins…

Throughout this journey of learning anew, self-discovery is as important if not more so than skill development whether one is pursuing professional ministry or professional counseling.  So I am thankful for the years of local church ministry which much has translated over into my approach to counseling.  I have learned to roll with the punches in ministry which is also applicable to counseling.  Life throws curve balls and sometimes we don’t know the outcome, but if we understand that transitions are going to occur and we have strong relationships with people throughout that time, all will be well.  

I have become increasingly aware of the role of transitions in our lives, especially since I am working more closely with children as they journey through transitions.  They are important….hopefully we have time to prepare for them and ease into them, but sometimes it doesn’t happen that way.  

So nurture those relationships you have, know they will sustain you, and embrace the transition!

2 thoughts on “Transitions are important

Leave a Reply

